## Faculty Senate Minutes 6 April 2012

**Call to Order:** Gary Byrd called the meeting to order at 12:20 p.m. in 11 JBK.

**Senators Present:** Alex, Ambrose, Anwar, Bigham, Byrd, Crandall, Jafar, Johnson, Kuennen, Loftin, Parr-Scanlin, Pendleton, Vizzini, and Ward

Senators Absent: Bartlett, Castillo, Drumheller, Landram, Rosa, and Wilson

Substitutes: Dwight Vick for Rausch and Nicole Walls for Severn

**Approval of Minutes:** Anwar made a motion seconded by Parr-Scanlin to approve as written the minutes of the 23 March Faculty Senate meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

**University Standing Committees:** The following faculty members were elected to fill the vacancies on the WT Standing Committees.

- Alcohol and other Drugs (any) Teri Bingham and Joe Ella Cansler
- Code of Student Life (any) Byungik Chang
- Curriculum Nicole Walls (FAH) and Collette Loftin (NHS)
- Diversity (any) Anand Commissiong
- Environmental Safety (any) Bob DeOtte
- Faculty Development Lal Almas (ASE), Turkan Kilic (BUS), Steve Bogener (FAH), Andy Reynolds (FAH), and Deborah Davenport (NHS)
- Faculty Emeritus Gerald Chen (ASE), Conn Thomas (ESS), and Michelle Bartlett (NHS)
- Faculty Handbook (any) Bob DeOtte
- Freshman Convocation Barbara Wang (BUS) and Rick Haasl (NHS)
- Grievance Bill Ambrose (ASE)
- Guest Artist (any but FAH) Turkan Kilic
- Honors Council Robert Beckley (ESS) and Vicki Hartin (NHS)
- Information Technology Freddie Davis (ASE), Tim Atchison (ESS), and Marietta Branson (NHS)
- Instructional Technology (NHS) Helen Reyes
- Intercollegiate Athletic Jeremy Lewis (FAH) and Matt Kuennen (NHS)
- JBK Student Center Advisory (any organization advisor) Kenneth Denton
- Parking John Pipkin (ASE), Syed Anwar (BUS), Keith Price (ESS), Vanessa Fiaud (NHS)
- Sick Leave Pool Review (any) Joe Ella Cansler
- Student Fee Advisory (any) Bonnie Pendleton
- Student Honors Darla Beaty (ESS) and Lorna Strong (NHS)
- University Library Marty Rhoades (ASE) and Marcus Melton (FAH)
- University Services Cathy Clewett (ASE) and Carole Brown (NHS)
- Web Advisory (any) Emily Kinsky

Regents' Professor: Gary Kelly prepared a list of faculty, department heads, and associate deans who are counted as full-time instructional faculty eligible to be considered for Regents' Professor. Anwar nominated Gene Carlisle to be considered for Regents' Professor. Bigham nominated Robert Beckley. Jafar nominated Doug Bingham. Ward nominated Gerald Schultz. Vizzini nominated Anwar, who again declined. The Provost's Office will check to ensure each person nominated meets the qualifications. Then, each candidate will be asked to prepare a packet on which Faculty Senators will vote. The name of the person selected will be forwarded to Dr. O'Brien.

## WT Committee for Evaluating Instructional Responsibility:

Bryd met with Wade Shaffer on 5 April for clarification and discussion related to his memo about changing the weight of the CIEQ for evaluation of faculty instructional responsibility. A committee whose members have not yet been named by Shaffer will help decide on changes, but Shaffer decided not to proceed with changes this year. Byrd told Shaffer about ideas discussed by Faculty Senate. Byrd wants to be sure WT gains from changing how instructional responsibility is assessed. Byrd reminded Shaffer the new committee should look at both annual and tenure and promotion evaluations because there is discrepancy in the weight of the CIEQ between the evaluations. For the annual evaluation, the CIEQ already is counted three times (33%) for instructional responsibility. The CIEQ is the element relied on heavily for evaluating instructional responsibility during the tenure and promotion process. Byrd said evaluations by students are a necessary part of evaluating teaching but relying on them can create secondary effects. A counter balance is needed, such as analysis of course content including the textbook used.

Anwar suggested that Byrd as President of Faculty Senate should be on Shaffer's new committee to evaluate instructional responsibility. Anwar has served on department, college, and university committees and said that many faculty submitting packets do not fully use all components of the CIEQ. Anwar wants all of WT to be consistent in using the CIEQ properly.

**Campus Parking:** Byrd met with Dr. O'Brien. The WT Parking Committee recommended open parking. Faculty are unintentionally discriminated against because of their work schedule and when they come to and leave campus. Byrd reported that Dr. O'Brien currently is not in favor of partitioning parking lots into categories.

**Tenure and Promotion Process:** Byrd critiqued the tenure and promotion process and the perceived difficulties with the process this time and gave Dr. O'Brien feedback. Dr. O'Brien took the feedback into consideration.

**Evaluation of Administrators:** Byrd met with Gary Kelley three times trying to shore up the process to evaluate WT administrators. A secure system that assures confidentiality is desired so faculty are not hesitant to evaluate administrators. The current amount of faculty participation is too low. How to handle written comments is an issue. The process needs to be clear how to comment about an administrator. Faculty

need to know who will see the written comments. Recommendations for change will be sent to faculty when ready by Byrd and the Faculty Senate Ad Hoc Committee.

**Election of New Senators:** Jafar said the College of Business needs an election to replace Rosa. Senators will conduct elections for new Faculty Senators during College meetings at the end of this semester. Volunteers might be needed to assist Byrd with elections.

The meeting adjourned at 1:42 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Bonnie B. Pendleton, Secretary

Bonnie & Pendleton

These minutes were approved as amended on 20 April 2012.